1. Where does Yoop's content come from?
All the content you see in the app has been Yooped (that is, rated) by someone else: rated stories are automatically shared with your followers and the best ones are shown in the home feed.
Yoop it on Android
You can rate any content you want from by clicking on share > Yoop. You can also save a story ('pin') or send it to your Yoop friends.
Yoop it on iOS
You can rate any content you want from by clicking on share > Yoop. You can also save a story ('pin') or send it to your Yoop friends. iOS users must enable Yoop for sharing the first time they want to share something into it.
Add a new website to Yoop
We review all media sources that are on Yoop to make sure they meet our content guidelines (yoop.io/content). We currently have around 10,000 sources, and more are added from our users every day. This video shows how you can add a new website to the list of sources allowed on Yoop.
2. What do the Yoop symbols mean?
Yooping means sharing an opinion about the content you see, with your followers and the broader Yoop community - with just one click. Opinions are complex but we found that they generally come down to five key reactions:
3. Why should I bother Yooping?
If you Yoop a story you send a message to other readers that the content they are seeing might or might not be worth their time. But, also, you are telling the content creators (a.k.a the media) that their content is great - or that it sucks. If that's not enough for you, here's what it also happens when you rate:
Positive rating: If you choose to rate a story positively (i.e. Important, Interesting, Entertaining) you automatically share it with your followers and you are more likely to see similar content in the future.
Negative rating:If you choose to rate a story negatively (i.e. Biased or Waste of Time) the story will not be shared, it will become less visible to other users and in the future you will see less of that kind of content from that specific source.